The OES visited Franklinton Cemetery on August 25, 2002. Established in 1799, Franklinton Cemetery is believed to be the oldest burying ground in Central Ohio. The cemetery was known as being a beautiful graveyard nestled in a locust grove with a board fence throughout the early to mid-1800s. The cemetery also marks the location of the first church in Central Ohio, built in 1811, but the building has been gone for quite some time. The cemetery was largely abandoned by the 1870s. Most of the burials were dug up and moved to the newer, larger Green Lawn Cemetery. The body of Lucas Sullivant, the founder of Franklinton and Columbus, was among those moved to Green Lawn.
Franklinton Cemetery is all but forgotten today. Only a few stones remained standing during our visit, and they were in pretty bad shape. The entire cemetery is surrounded by a stone wall with a large monument at the center of the cemetery that tells of the cemetery's history. Veterans of the Revolutionary War, War of 1812, and Civil War are buried in the cemetery along with the town's first minister, Seth Noble. Records indicate there are at least 114 burials remaining at the cemetery, but many are unmarked. Of those 114 remaining burials, the oldest belongs to Elizabeth Goodale, who died on January 24, 1809. The last burial was Samuel Scott Sr. who died on October 16, 1871. The Franklin County Historical Society inducted the cemetery as a historical site in May 1962. There was a historical plaque at the cemetery's entrance when we visited, but it has since been either taken down or stolen.